Friday, July 10, 2015

Episode 013 - The Gizmos

The Gizmos reunited their original line up last year, and decided to continue as a band. They have two shows scheduled for Indiana- Indy & Bloomington coming up this weekend.

Hour One: Original Gizmos Kenne Highland and Eddie Flowers join by phone and talk about their contributions to selected songs. Tracks from the new "Gizmos World Tour 2014" CD. Music by No Coast, Absonites, Jacco Gardner, and Jorma Whitaker.

Hour Two: Continued conversation and Gizmos music, with Kenne & Eddie. Music by DEEZEN, Wet Heave, Open Sex, Chives, and Vacation Club, plus a snippet from Bebop Tsunami's NPR interview with Eddie Flowers ahead of last year's reunion.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Episode 012 - Mike Rippy of The Dockers

This week's interview guest is Mike Rippy, of the very prolific Indianapolis band, The Dockers. Their sound is a curious blend of metal, punk, comics, and juvenile humor- they call it 'Fezcore'. Karl Hofstetter of Joyful Noise checks in ahead of the 4-day Fountain Square Music festival, which JNR is participating in.

Hour One: Rippy guides us through the new album, 'The Fury Of The Mindless Ones', complete with revealing the references. Karl Hofstetter of Joyful Noise. Statewide show listings. Music all by bands playing in the next five days: Vacation Club, S.M. Wolf, America Owns The Moon, Thee Tsunamis, Apache Dropout, Yonatan Gat, and The Lemons.

Hour Two: More madness with Mike Rippy and The Dockers, also Deezen. Music by The Melvins, Hew Time, Wet Heave, and The Gizmos.