Sunday, May 31, 2015

Episode 007 - John Dawson & Seth Mahern of Magnetic South

Magnetic South is a label, a recording studio, and a venue. Interview guests Seth & John run them all, and play in Apache Dropout (Seth), and Open Sex (John).

Hour One: Talking mainly about the recording studio and Magnetic South values, preview of the upcoming Psychic Baos 7" record, talk about Apache Dropout. The week's show listings. Music by Thee Tsunamis, Christian Taylor & Homeschool, Missing Hearts, The Lemons, and Apache Dropout.

Hour Two: More with Seth & John, talking about the evolutions of Open Sex, upcoming Magnetic South releases, more from the Psychic Baos 7" and an Apache Dropout live recording. Music by Bonesetters, The Pummels, Open Sex, and Circuit des Yeux.

Friday, May 22, 2015

Episode 006 - The Free Zone & Craig Bell

This episode has two guests, one for each hour.

Hour One: Tim & Tom of the Free Zone talk about their radio show on WICR 88.7-fm in Indianapolis, and the upcoming Agent Orange show they are promoting. Music by Apache Dropout, Thee Tsunamis, The Icks, Ko, Agent Orange, In The Whale, The Brothers Gross, Shame Thugs, and CCR Headcleaner.

Hour Two: Craig Willis Bell updates us on his latest activities, recording with The Down-fi and Rocket From The Tombs, and touring with X_____X. We played not-yet-released songs from Down-fi and X_____X. Music by Brenda's Friend, America Owns The Moon, live tracks from Thee Tsunamis and Dirtbike, Viet Cong, Burnt Ones, Apache Dropout, and Mike Adams At His Honest Weight.

Friday, May 15, 2015

Episode 005 - Bebop Tsunami of Thee Tsunamis

Thee Tsunamis are releasing a new album this weekend, with two shows to celebrate- one in Indianapolis, and one in Bloomington. Singer/guitarist Bebop Tsunami joined as our special interview guest. The new album is called "Saturday Night Sweetheart", and will be released by Bloomington's Magnetic South Recordings.

Hour One: Bebop Tsunami mixes a signature cocktail and spins songs from the new album. Also, music by Sir Deja Doog, Missing Hearts, and Apache Dropout.

Hour Two: More interview with Bebop Tsunami, and more music by Thee Tsunamis- new record and back catalog. Also, music by Sebadoh (new Joyful Noise unannounced giveaway record), Sleeping Bag, Thee Open Sex, Deezen, Bo Jackson 5, The Nevermores, The Dockers, The Brothers Gross, and Raw McCartney.

Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Episode 004 - Karl Hofstetter of Joyful Noise Recordings

When Indiana passed a controversial law (RFRA- the Religious Freedom Restoration Act), backlash was great, entertainers and conventions threatened to boycott the state. Indianapolis label Joyful Noise Recordings had what they felt was a more positive response- a compilation supporting marriage equality, called "50 Bands & A Cat". Karl Hofstetter of Joyful Noise tells us about the compilation, and other things his label is up to.

Hour One: Interview with Karl Hofstetter. Music from Joyful Noise artists Memory Map & CJ Boyd, compilation tracks from Lil' Bub (yes, the cat), Thee Oh Sees, Godspeed You! Black Emporer, and The Coke Dares; live tracks from We Are Hex and Dirtbike, as recorded by Boom Shakes The Room; Thee Tsunamis (album preview), and Vacation Club.

Hour Two: More interview with Karl Hofstetter. Music from Joyful Noise artists Yonatan Gat, Surfer Blood, Stranger Cat, and Tim Kinsella; release previews from Thee Tsunamis and Deezen, bands playing soon- Circuit des Yeux, and Bonesetters.